Author Posts

January 25, 2018 at 1:05 pm


You can view the 2018 nomination form here or visit our Moving Mountains page on the NADSP website

2018 Moving Mountains Awards: 

Best Practice in Direct Support Workforce Development

The National Alliance for Direct Support Professionals (NADSP), the Research and Training Center (RTC) at the University of Minnesota’s Institute on Community Integration and the American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) are seeking nominations for the 2018 Moving Mountains Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize organizations using leading practices in direct support workforce development that result in improved outcomes for the people being supported. Organizations applying are required to illustrate how their direct support workforce practices and philosophy align with the principles of the National Alliance for Direct Support Professionals.

These principles are: 

  • All direct support professionals benefit from access to well-constructed educational experiences (e.g., in-service training, continuing and higher education) and lifelong learning;
  • Certifying highly qualified workers incentivizes continuing education, increased compensation, and access to career pathways for direct support professionals thereby improving retention;
  • Values and ethical decision making can be learned and infused into daily practice; and
  • Strengthening relationships and partnerships between direct support professionals, self-advocates, and other consumer groups and families improves the quality of support.

Nominated programs/initiatives can be small (a single program) or large (statewide) in scope and can involve just a few or many DSPs. Organizations that have applied previously but were not selected are invited and encouraged to re-submit a nomination for this year’s competition. The RTC, ANCOR and the NADSP are looking for unique and creative initiatives that contribute to improving workforce outcomes for direct support professionals and their employers. We welcome applications from statewide/regional initiatives, local organizations, and individuals. Up to two awards will be given in 2018.

This year’s award winners will be honored in Baltimore on July 30th at the Reinventing Quality Conference in July of 2018.

You can view the 2018 nomination form here or visit our Moving Mountains page on the NADSP website