支持简史

最初作为一种支持少数处于落后风险中的人的方式,现已发展成为一个国际社会,其工作正在影响许多州、省和国家的公共政策。

分离且不相等

大机构。隔离生活。美国对智力和发育障碍人士的大规模公共资助支持的早期历史主要涉及单独的机构设置。尽管总体上是善意的,但这些聚集的生活情况往好里演变成了隔离的世界,往坏了说,演变成了虐待和忽视的地狱般的噩梦。

被留下来

在 1980 年代末和 1990 年代初,美国对公民和残疾人权利运动的反应迟缓导致了去机构化运动,主要是由集体诉讼推动的。由于认为某些人“不适合”生活在社区中并且对自己和他人构成危险,去机构化的过程被放慢并受阻。进入马里兰大学著名的 Michael Smull 和 Susan Burke-Harrison。这对二人组被邀请帮助这些“具有挑战性”的人“准备好”搬到“社区”。

不同的镜头

Smull 和 Burke-Harrison 很快意识到问题不在于患有 ID/DD 的人,而在于当前的规划过程未能真正了解这些人是谁以及哪种类型的支持实际上会有所帮助。他们与这些人性被拒绝的人合作得越多,他们就越意识到,被视为消极行为的实际上是人类对有毒环境、失去控制以及以健康和安全为主导的生活的典型反应。 

寻找平衡

作为对他们的发现的回应,迈克尔和苏珊开发了基本生活方式规划 (ELP)。这种规划方法建立在重要 TO 和重要 FOR 的概念、健康/安全与幸福之间的联系和平衡以及积极控制对人类生活的重要性的基础上。

这种规划方法非常成功,它像野火一样蔓延。越来越多的专业人士开始使用这些概念,并为 ELP 添加新的想法和方法。随着他们的从业者网络的增长,他们开始互相教导和教导其他专业人员更好的方法来与他们支持的人一起进行规划。

超越计划

没过多久,他们就意识到,规划只是旅程的开始。他们注意到,对于那些使用支持的人来说,没有使用的美妙计划实际上比帮助更有害。认识到良好实施初始计划以及持续学习和分享学习的必要性,他们与同事一起为提供支持的人员设计了培训。 

旅程

很快,该小组就认识到自己是探索之旅中的学习者和培训者。虽然他们对 ELP 背后的能量以及对技能和工具的高度兴趣感到兴奋,但他们也认识到偏离以人为本理念的风险。为了使他们对持续学习和高标准的规划和支持的承诺正式化,他们建立了 以人为本的实践学习社区 并为培训师和辅导员制定了标准化课程以及认证流程。

一场国际运动

在一群致力于赋予生活中失去积极控制风险的人们的从业者和倡导者的帮助下,ELP 演变成 以人为本的思考与规划 已经在全球范围内传播并发展成为一场运动。 TLCPCP 使用共享学习来开发新的技能和工具并改进现有的技能,同时增加额外的课程并为从业者创造新的方式来连接和分享他们的学习。 Michael Smull 和 Susan Burke-Harrison 开始作为一种支持少数有可能被抛在后面的人的方式,现已发展成为一个由 1500 多名从业者组成的国际社区,他们在全球范围内开展工作,他们的工作正在影响许多州的公共政策,省和国家。

简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

A Brief History of Supports

What started as a way to support a few people who were at risk for being left behind has grown into an international community whose work is impacting public policy in many states, provinces, and countries.

Separate and NOT equal

Big institutions. Segregated living. The early history of large-scale publicly funded support for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the United States primarily involved separate, institutional settings. While generally well-intended, these congregate living situations evolved into segregated worlds at best and hellish nightmares of abuse and neglect, at worst.

Left Behind

In the late 1980s and early 1990s, a delayed response to civil and disability rights movements in the U.S. resulted in a movement toward deinstitutionalization, spurred on mostly by class-action lawsuits. The process of deinstitutionalization was slowed and stymied by the belief that certain people were not “fit” to live in the community and were dangerous to themselves and others. Enter the famous Michael Smull and Susan Burke-Harrison of the University of Maryland. This duo was invited to help get these “challenging” people “ready” to move to “the community.”

A Different Lens

Smull and Burke-Harrison quickly realized that the problem was not with the people living with ID/DD, rather it was the failure of current planning processes to truly understand who the people were and what type of supports would actually be helpful. The more they worked with these folks whose humanity was being rejected, the more they realized that what was being viewed as negative behavior was actually human beings responding pretty typically to toxic environments, loss of control and lives dominated by health and safety. 

Finding a Balance

In response to their discovery, Michael and Susan developed Essential Lifestyle Planning (ELP). This approach to planning was built on the concepts of Important TO and Important FOR,  the connection and balance between Health/Safety and Happiness, and the importance of positive control in human lives.

This approach to planning was so successful, it spread like wildfire. More and more professionals began using these concepts and adding new ideas and approaches to ELP. As their network of practitioners grew, they began teaching each other and other professionals better approaches to planning with the people they support.

Beyond Planning

It did not take long for them to realize that planning was only the beginning of the journey. They noticed that wonderful plans that were not used were actually more hurtful than helpful to people who use supports. Recognizing the need for good implementation of initial plans as well as ongoing learning and sharing of learning, with their colleagues, they designed training for the people who were providing the supports. 

A Journey

Very quickly the group recognized themselves as learners as well as trainers on a discovery journey. While they were excited about the energy behind ELP and the high level of interest in the skills and tools, they also recognized the risk of drift away from the person-centered philosophy. To formalize their commitment to ongoing learning and high standards of planning and support, they established The Learning Community for Person Centered Practices and developed a standardized curriculum as well as a certification process for trainers and facilitators.

An International Movement

With the help of an army of practitioners and advocates dedicated to empowering people who were at risk for losing positive control in their lives, ELP which evolved into Person Centered Thinking and Planning has moved across the globe and grown into a movement in and of itself. TLCPCP uses shared learning to develop new skills and tools and refine existing ones as well as adding additional curricula and creating new ways for practitioners to connect and share their learning. What Michael Smull and Susan Burke-Harrison started as a way to support a few people who were at risk for being left behind has grown into an international community of more than 1500 practitioners circling the globe and their work is impacting public policy in many states, provinces, and countries.

English

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.